Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31817

Law 11 - Offside 9/24/2017

RE: Adult

Nkuna H of Polokwane, RSA asks...

Can player of team A in front of goal be flagged offside if there's a player/ defender of team B behind the goalkeeper of the very same team B?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Nkuna,
the keeper is but one of 11 players when it comes to offside he is OFTEN the furthest back by nature of his position but obviously his team mates can take over that position in behind him

The position of an attacker to NOT be offside requires TWO opponents closer or even to the opposing goal line or the attacker is behind the ball itself when his own team mate plays it

The fact the keeper is not the last opponent has no real bearing on the decision . If he is the 2nd last opponent then he becomes relevant!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Nkuna
When there are two opponents between the player and the goal line the player is in an onside position. However the player may have run from on offside position into an onside position to play the ball. It is the position at the moment of the play by a team mate that counts not where the player actually plays the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

I agree with my colleagues, Law 11 only mentions 2 opponents. It doesn't mention what position they are playing. In fact, sometimes the goalkeeper isn't involved in the offside equation at all. (And let me tell you, for assistant referee it gets really interesting when that happens!)

Don't forget that beside the 2 opponents closer to the goal line, the ball also sets where offside applies. If the player is behind the ball at the last touch by a teammate, there is no offside, regardless of the number of opponents.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31817
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.