Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31820

Law 3 - The Players 9/24/2017

Iftikhar of Sialkot, Punjab Pakistan asks...

During a match attacking team get penalty . Defending team replace the goal keeper with playing player to stop penalty. After the penalty that player again change his position from goal keeper to playing . Is it possible

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
Yes that is possible and allowed for in the Laws. Any player can become the goalkeeper as long as the referee is informed and it is done at a stoppage. The new new GK must put on the funny jersey
A penalty kick is a stoppage so it can be done at that time.
I have seen it happen at Underage as perhaps a better shot stopping goalkeeper may be playing outfield. It rarely happens in open age due to the specialist role of goalkeepers. I have seen it in open age where a GK has got injured and as the team has used all it substitutes an outfield player has to go into goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Yes the switch is permissible under FIFA LOTG. Often in younger ages their best overall player, larger, quicker reactions, plays out but fills in as keeper on occasion. This is not a substitution merely an exchange of position. The CR MUST be notified prior to it occurring.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Iftikhar,
This is permissible under the Laws of the Game, so long as the referee is informed and there is a break in play. So before the penalty is taken, no issues. Afterwards could be a different story - if the penalty is scored, is missed or otherwise goes out of play immediately after the penalty kick, the players could switch straight back again. However if the penalty was saved and play were to continue, the players could not immediately switch back - they would have to wait for the ball to go out of play again.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31820
Read other Q & A regarding Law 3 - The Players

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.