Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31821

Law 11 - Offside 9/24/2017

RE: Under 12

Mike Perry of Shorewood, il us asks...

A player kicks a ball at the goal from an onside position and chases his own kick. The goalie tries to catch the ball but drops it in front of him. The player who first kicked the ball then kicks it in the net. Is it a goal or is the player offsides on the second kick? (assume only the goalie is in front or even with him at the time of the second kick)

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Mike
based on you description there is NO WAY for the goal scorer to be guilty of offside given he was in behind the ball the entire time.
He was ONSIDE to kick it at goal, he remained UNRESTRICTED no matter he runs by the 2nd last defender in pursuit to kick the ball again after the keeper saved his 1st shot but gave up a rebound. The fact is NOTHING has changed the parameters of offside since it was HE that originally kicked the ball and NO other team mate is involved.> He was entitled to play his OWN rebound!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Mike,
As described there is no offside offence here. Offside can only occur when there is a touch on the ball by a team mate of the player and when the player is an offside position at the time of the prior touch. To be in an offside position, a player must be ahead of the ball. In your scenario not only was there no touch by a team mate but in addition the player was never in an offside position.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Mike,
A player can't kick themselves offside - offside always involves 2 attackers. The one touching the ball and the one interfering with play. That must be 2 separate players.

Also, an attacker must be in front of the ball when last touched by a teammate to be in an offside position.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mike
As described this CANNOT be offside. The player has in effect kicked the ball to himself. The distance of the kick can be a few feet to many yards.
Offside needs a minimum of two players from the same team to be considered. that is a passer and a receiver. The receiver is the only one that can be considered for offside never the passer.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31821
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.