Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31822

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/24/2017

RE: Comp Under 13

Scott of San ramon, Ca Usa asks...

If a goal keeper throws the ball as a deliberate pass, can they touch the ball again either in the box or outside the box with their feet without the ball being touched by another player? I'm not talking about dropping the ball to their feet but throwing the ball 12-15 feet upfield

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

The restrictions on the keeper playing the ball only apply to the hands - that is, once the keeper releases the ball from their hands they cannot handle it again. It's perfectly legal to play it with another body part. This would be no different to a keeper simply dropping the ball to control the ball with their feet and playing it out with their leisure.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Scott,
Yes, the goalkeeper can play the ball again with their feet (just not with the hands). There is no restriction on the goalkeeper playing the ball with their feet during the course of normal play.

Although it would be a slightly unusual scenario, if the goalkeeper were to throw the ball (from inside the area) and were then able to catch up to the ball outside the area before any other player, it wouldn't matter how far the ball had gone, it would still be OK for the keeper to kick the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Scott
The goalkeeper is like any other player with the exception that he can use his hands inside the penalty area. There are restrictions on the goalkeeper as to when he can use his hands never his feet.
So a goalkeeper will never ever be penalised for using his feet ever after throwing the ball away either a few feet or many yards.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31822
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.