Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31823

Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match 9/24/2017

RE: Competitive Under 15

Riley of Plattsburgh, New York United States of America asks...

If I take a shot and the ball hits the bar twice is it a goal? In a game recently we lost 2-1 and I shot the ball and it hit the bar twice and was disallowed. I believed its a rule that if the ball hits the bar twice its a goal, Im just looking to make sure?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Riley,
Although it would be very rare for a ball to hit the bar twice from one shot and then enter the net, if it were to happen it would be OK. There is no reason to disallow a goal in these circumstances.

I have to say I'm struggling a little to envisage the scenario but I suppose theoretically anything is possible.

Or do you mean that the ball hit the bar and the post before entering the net? That is a much more plausible scenario and a relatively common occurrence. Again, no reason to disallow such a goal.

Here is an example of the ball hitting the bar twice and as you can see, the ball does not cross the line but had it done so, there would be no reason to rule out the goal.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K0de0b7m-14

Note: I have edited this answer since it originally appeared, as on second viewing I felt it strayed a little too far from an analysis of the points of law involved.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Riley,

There's certainly no such law - doesn't matter if it's in normal play or a penalty kick, or Kicks From the Mark (penalty shootout). If that was actually the reason and the ref didn't disallow the goal for another reason (are you sure it actually entered the goal?), then the ref has done the wrong thing. I'd say there must have been another reason - perhaps the referee wasn't certain that the ball had wholly crossed the line.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Riley
All of the ball has to cross all of the goal line for a goal to be scored. It can hit any combination of crossbar, post multiple times if there is sufficient momentum to do so and a goal will only be awarded if all the ball crossed all the goal line.
Some might say that for the ball to bounce down, bounce back up again to hit the crossbar that it may have had to be over the line on the first bounce. That is a guess and spin on the ball can cause all sorts to happen. The video by Referee Grove proves the point.
In summary there is no such rule and unless it is obvious that the ball crossed the line no goal can be awarded. It is for this reason that technology is now being introduced to assist in the call in the higher levels of the game. I can assure you that on the first bounce down which is the likely time for the ball to cross that any AR or Cr will be very hard pressed to see if the ball actually bounced down over the line. In the absence of certainty the game continues.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31823
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.