Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31838

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/28/2017

RE: Rec Adult

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

Is this a clear straightforward penalty, or, is it that the attacker made a penalty out of it.

With the aid of remote in hand, is it clear that the defender took out the attacker. I'm not sure.

Fast forward to 3.13

Certainly. the defender by going to ground made it easier for the attacker to make something of it, and easier for the Match crew to think there is something there. Maybe there was something there.

I'm not saying it is not a penalty, (if I was that defender, I'd probably have to accept the decision as I really should not have got myself into such a position), but I think it is a good sequence that as a neutral observer, makes you ask questions.

Did the defender actually connect with the attacker?
Did the attacker fall over the defender?
Did the defender obstruct the attacker?
Did the defender change his line in a way to deny the attacker to get to the ball " the attacker was between the ball and the defender !

Certainly, by sliding on the ground, the attacker could not put his feet in a position to stay upright and move to the ball, but if the defender was standing and his feet were in the same positions that the attacker needed to put his feet - is that a crime - the LOTG say everyone is entitled to their place on the FOP.

I cannot not help but think that if not for the Goal Line assistant who was quick to point to the spot, the CR might have let this one slide.

Maybe it is a straight forward penalty 'every time' (as some of the panel like to say).
Maybe there are legitimate questions to ask.
Maybe the answers all lead to the same result.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russell
In real time this would have looked like a penalty. Officials as yet in the CL do not have video technology to review decisions. The fact the Blue defender does not get much if any contact on the ball the chances increased significantly of a foul being called. Had Blue managed to kick the ball away on the challenge it would not IMO been given. As it turned out the no apparent contact on the ball on the first attempt with the ball not moving anywhere plus the contact then on the attacker was always going to run a very high risk of a foul. Also there was not much complaint from Blue as it would have looked a foul.
Maybe look at it another way. Had it not been given there would have been greater question marks on why it was not given.
Pro players know that not getting the ball in challenges with contact most times ends up going against them. You may be right in that on his own with only an AR this might not have been given as benefit of contact on the ball might have bern given.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31838
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.