Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31840

Law 11 - Offside 9/29/2017

RE: Competitive Under 15

Aaron Speca of Virginia Beach, VA USA asks...

With regards to a player in 'otherwise' offsides position during a throw-in, I saw two occasions in the same game where a throw was made toward a player behind the second-to-last defender and offsides was called when the ball deflected off of only a defender on its way to the player. I thought that the offsides violation would only occur if the ball were to touch an attacker before going to the player, who would then be in offsides position at the touch of the attacker. Am I correct?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

HI Aaron
You are correct. As described there was no offside and it should not been called. I suspect that it was an incorrect interpretation by the match officials in that a touch by a defender does not change DIRECTLY.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


HI Arron ,
you are correct as usual the offside criteria for exemption is not affected if the ball is contacted by the opposing team be it deliberately or deflected.
If we are correct in the assumption the referee incorrectly believes since the ball did not DIRECTLY go to a teammate it is offside only a kind word in his ear at the next training mentor session can set him straight
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Aaron,
As per normal, you have provided a correct analysis of the situation. If the ball, from a throw-in, is touched by an opponent on the way through to an offside-positioned player, there is no offside offence.

One way to look at it, is to consider that a player can only, potentially, be eligible to commit an offside offence by being in an offside position at the moment the ball was last touched by a team mate. However the 'potential offside eligibility' does not exist if that last touch by a team mate was in the form of a throw-in, goal kick or corner kick.






Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31840
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 31851

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.