Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31846

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 9/30/2017

RE: rec Under 11

Garrett of Angleton, Texas united states asks...

On a goal kick, once the goalie sets the ball in one corner, backs up to kick it, then changes her mind, runs up and picks the ball up and moves it to the other corner, is this legal? and if not, what should the call be?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Garrett
The restart does not change. It is still a goal kick.
Now the question has to be asked as to why that happened. At younger age group the GK may have been told to kick from one side of the goal area and forgot. It can be a whim that changed his mind.
At older age groups it is likely that it could be for time wasting purposes in which case it is a caution for delaying the restart of play and the lost time is added on. Even with the caution the restart is still a goal kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

It used to be, more than 20 years ago, that a goal kick had to be taken from the same side of the goal area as the ball went out. Now, the only requirement is that the ball is placed in the goal area.

As ref McHugh says, unless this is an attempt to waste time, it's no problem.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Garrett,
Simply moving the ball from one side of the goal area to the other is not illegal per se. It would only be if the referee were of the opinion that this was done in order to delay the restart of play that the player could be cautioned but if the referee is not convinced of this fact then no action would be needed. In any event, the restart would not change, it would still be a goal kick.

If a referee suspects time wasting but is not sure, they might choose to verbally warn the keeper first, before proceeding to a caution if the behaviour continues.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31846
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - The Goal Kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.