Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31854

Kicks From The Penalty mark 10/2/2017

RE: Adult

Osmaj of Thimphu, Thimphu Bhutan asks...

In a penalty shootout, winner is declared after 4 players kicking and one player registered is a player who left field of play, My question is what will be the decision of the declared winner if we come to know about the player later

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
The procedure for Kicks from the Penalty Mark are clearly set out. All players on the field of play at the final whistle has to take a kick unless they have declare themselves injured. If a player declare himself injured then the opponents get to reduce their number by one as well.
In the situation where a substitute or a substituted player who was not be eligible to take a kick does in fact do so the opponents can lodge a protest with the competition authority and if proven I would say that the matter would be referred to a panel for decision as to what sanction should be given. If it is in fact proven I would say that the team might forfeit the game. The challenge will be proving who took kicks as the referee team should ensure that only eligible player actually take a kick.
My experience is that protest at the time is much better as the matter can be decided by the referee team at that very moment based on the referees record of the game. Record keeping and memory can be very fickle days after a game.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Osmaj,
If one of the players who took a kick was not on the field at the end of the game (unless he was just temporarily absent because of injury, adjusting equipment etc) then he was not eligible to participate and should not have been allowed to take a kick.

If this were appealed, any decision on it would be up to the competition organisers and would depend on being able to prove the facts of the case.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31854
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.