Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31857

Law 13 - Free Kicks 10/3/2017

RE: Rec - Competitive High School

Doc of Kansas City, Missouri US asks...

On an Indirect kick, a player kicked the ball ball directly into the opponent's goal; the goal was disallowed.

Afterward the restart was a dropped ball; was this correct?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Doc
That was an incorrect restart. The restart in both NFHS and FIFA is a goal kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


HI Doc,
as presented NO it was not correct!

if the INDFK was correctly signaled and IDENTIFIED as an INDFK by the referee raising the arm and the kicker decides to shoot directly at the goal with no other touch that ball enters the goal under the crossbar between the posts completely crossing the goal line the only conceivable legal restart is a goal kick out!

If the indfk was NOT signaled correctly the result COULD be a retake!

There is no possible drop ball restart unless the original offence was not an indk offence and the situation was a mistake recognized by the referee before the kick was taken
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Doc,
According to NFHS rules the restart should have been a goal kick not a dropped ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

Doc,
An indirect kick that is goes untouched into the opponents goal results in a goal kick restart. This is indicated in NFHS Situation 13.3.1-Da on page 67 of the 2017-18 NFHS Rules Book.

I hope that you have a successful remainder of the fall season.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31857
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.