Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31865

High School 10/5/2017

RE: High School

Bob Healy of whitman, MA United States asks...

Can a keeper punt a ball into the opposing net and score

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi bob,
under FIFA 11 aside LOTG you bet and I expect under high school during open play the same applies! Just expect the NFL scouts to show up asking if he wanted to try pointy ball!
Cheers

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-OwQS38i3Og

http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/video/goalie-tim-howard-scores-cross-field-goal-wind-carries-ball-team-entertainment-15296818

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/video/2017/apr/26/goalkeeper-scores-from-own-penalty-area-bolivia-football-video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dSc-3rT5afY






Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Yes, they can. You might find some non-NFHS games played under local or competition rules for youth or small-sided games that have a modification prohibiting this but under NFHS rules this would be allowed.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Bob
In regular games on normal sized fields a goal can be scored from a punt. It has happened at all levels. Indeed if a goalkeeper could throw the ball that far the goal would also be counted as no rule has been breached. The ball is in play and the goalkeeper is allowed to kick, throw from his own penalty area. It is pretty long kick for a young player from one area to the other and to also beat the opposing goalkeeper.
In small sided games, Futsal etc there are competition rules to not allow this. Not so in regular games.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31865
Read other Q & A regarding High School

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.