Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31872

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 10/7/2017

RE: Rec Under 15

Dave Bober of Waynesville, NC US asks...

A player takes a shot on goal..the keeper picks the ball up and rolls it to one of his own players. As soon as he releases the ball it is in play correct...and the player may be standing in the box....what i'm asking is it doesn't have to leave the box before it is played by either team right?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Dave
The ball never went out of play. The goalkeeper cannot be challenged while in possession of the ball yet it is still in play.
So as described the ball does not have to leave the penalty area when it is already in play. That only applies to kicked restarts inside the penalty area by the defending team. On a goal kick or free kick the ball has to exit the penalty area to be in play. If it is touched by any player inside the oenalty area the restart kick is retaken. At all other times that dies not apply.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Dave,
The law stating the ball needs to leave the Penalty Area to be played only applies to Goal Kicks and defensive free kicks inside the PA. Not when the keeper has taken possession of the ball in play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


HI Dave,
there is NO provision the ball MUST leave the goal area or the Penalty area, EXCEPT upon outgoing goal or free kicks taken from within the Penalty area.

In OPEN play when a keeper gains ball possession the opposition are not permitted to play that ball and the keeper has 6 seconds upon to release it back into active play. This is so the keeper is not injured when opposition try to kick the ball since he CAN use his hands. Six seconds was decided upon a safe reasonable amount of time to allow the keeper time to get it back to his teammates or up field. Once he puts the ball back on the ground in active play that ball is available for any player to challenge or play it. The keeper is NOT permitted to reuse his hands on that ball until another player has contacted the ball.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31872
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.