Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31879

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/8/2017

RE: Competitive Under 19

Aaron Speca of VIRGINIA BEACH, VA United States asks...

The shot from red eventually comes and is knocked off the post. As a blue defender attempts to settle the rebound, the keeper comes out and covers. Whistle was blown for a 'passback' to the keeper. I felt there was no intentional play to the keeper in this case.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Arron,
I kind of agree with you from the video it does look rather unintentional but the 2nd touch (given the 1st was a rebound) was the one the referee must of thought yes it was being deliberately kicked to the keeper. It is a bit of a gotcha call in my opinion it looked rather innocuous as poor skill more than a deliberate kick of the foot to the keeper but the referee had a different opinion.
His match His Decision His Reputation!
You are getting pretty good at these so are you a full-fledged referee yet??? lol

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Aaron
In the US the interpretation from my experience had been quite strict on the deliberate kick to the goalkeeper. There has been many questions on referees punishing kicks that in their opinion that were deliberate and some that were not meant for the goalkeeper just aimless kicks yet deliberate. The so called Triangle interpretation.
In this the video is poor yet there appears to be two touches by Blue? A poor first touch and a second one. If there are two the rebound argument has passed.
Also look at the position of the referee. He is looking at this from at least twenty plus yards and from the back of the Blue player through a group of players. He is not looking at it from the camera angle so this will have looked liked control of the ball and left for the GK which makes it a deliberate kick.
So I can see why it was given.
Learning point is two fold. The defender needs to have better control and kick it away either for a corner or a throw in. The GK when she sees the possibility of the referee deeming this to be control by the foot needs to kick the ball away rather than risk the IDFK as there is such a threat in such situations. GKs have become complacent on *kicks* not being considered as deliberate kicks to them by referees.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31879
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.