Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31886

Law 11 - Offside 10/10/2017

RE: Under 17

Jordan Jackson of Sydney, NSW Australia asks...

Quick question, if ball hits ref and is received by player in offside position, is it offside?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jordan
Yes that is offside. the referee is just part of the field of play and the touch off the referee changes nothing. If it was offside without the touch it is still offside with it.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Jordan,
offside criteria is NOT reset if the ball strikes a referee he is a moving flag post and what was stays the same!

If the PIOP receives the ball off the referee via a teammate's last touch, a deliberate save from an opponent or series of deflections or rebounds off defender or posts or crossbar he will STILL be guilty of gaining an advantage or interfering with play .
However if the ball is deliberately played by an opponent off the referee then the PIOP was already released from his restriction and COULD legally play the ball.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Jordan,
Firstly, it is important to realise that the ball touching the referee has no effect whatsoever on the determination of an offside offence. It also doesn't matter where the player was when receiving the ball, only where they were when the ball last touched a team mate. But if the criteria for an offside offence are met, the player would be offside.

Assuming the player was in an offside position when the ball was last touched by a team mate and then became involved in active play, an offside offence would have occurred. It is not possible to be sure from your description as it does not contain sufficient information as to the circumstances before the ball hit the referee.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31886
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.