Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31892

Law 11 - Offside 10/11/2017

RE: Under 17

Michael Justin of Sydney, NSW Sydney asks...

The ball rebounds off keeper and to a player in an offside position? is it offside? Does the rule change just because it is a keeper?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Michael
A rebound or a deflection to a player in an offside position will be called offside as it does not reset the offside. It makes no difference if it is a goalkeeper. It is called gaming an advantage by being in an offside position,
However it is more likely that if it comes off the goalkeeper that it will be a save which while a deliberate play is never a reset. A save can also applies to an outfield player.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Michael,
a rebound or deflection off an opponent, IF that is what it is, changes nothing, it is the SAME as a deliberate save by an opponent. If you were a PIOP you are still restricted from play and would be guilty of gaining an advantage

Mind you if you were NOT a PIOP at the time the ball was last touched by a teammate you could run into an offside position to play that ball. It also depends as to who last touched the ball prior to the deflection or rebound was it a team mate of the PIOP then offside conditions remain but if it was a defender off another defender the offside might no longer exist.

Although I have seen a deliberate save by the red keeper go out and rebound off the back of red defender towards another red defender who in trying to kick it out and away was interfered with by a blue PIOP and I awarded the INDFK for offside for interfering with the opponent as I maintained that red saved and only deflected the ball up to that point it was not yet deliberately played.


Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Michael,
When it come to rebounds in relation to offside, the law makes no distinction between goalkeepers and outfield players, it just talks about opponents. So nothing changes because the rebound was off the keeper. If the ball is deliberately played by a defender, the attacker cannot be guilty of an offside offence but according to the wording of the law this does not apply when the ball has:

''rebounded or been deflected off [...] an opponent [or] been deliberately saved by any opponent''

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31892
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.