Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31942

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 10/26/2017

RE: Adult

Mike of Montreal, Qc Canada asks...

PK awarded in 60th minute of play.
Whistle is blown for kicker to take PK.
Kicker is approximately 4 yards from ball, takes 2 steps towards ball, stops, takes 2 steps back, pauses, and returns her run up, strikes the ball and scores a goal. What is the correct call?
Thank you

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Mike,
As described, I see nothing wrong here. According to the laws of the game it is only an offence if the player stops after already finishing the run up and Law 14 also specifically states that feinting during the run up is permitted.

I suppose if the goalkeeper had been so disconcerted by the action that they dived early, you might want to call a halt to proceedings and have a 'reset' but I'd be surprised, since by your description the player would still be at least a couple of yards away from the ball when she stopped.

So as far as I can tell, based on the information given, I think the correct call would be to allow the goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mike
I do not read any illegal feinting in what has been described here.
The answer many times rests in whether the goalkeeper has been disadvantaged by the action. For instance had the goalkeeper dived at the point of the stop, the ball is not kicked and the ball is kicked into an empty side of the goal then the goal is disallowed, the kicker cautioned and the restart is an IDFK from the penalty mark.
Maybe the best way to answer the question here is to ask whether the kickers action merited a caution? There must be a caution to disallow any goal that is scored with illegal feinting.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Mike,
while it is not illegal to feint the PK kicker is not supposed to stop and pretend to make a keeper go one way then slot it home in the opening left, here it sounds more she started her run upon her wrong foot and wanted to realign the run up more than create any subterfuge? To caution for USB seems harsh given your description of events. Perhaps another referee may choose to see it different, thinking it was done to deceive the keeper?

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31942
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.