Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31969

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/31/2017

RE: Adult

Anthony Bailey of Hamilton, Paget Bermuda asks...

Law 12 Advantage:

If a player commits an offense that warrants a yellow card but the ref plays the advantage and as play continues the same offending player gets involved in active play by challenging for the ball should play be stopped and the player booked with the restart being an indirect free kick to the attacking team or should you wait until the ball goes out of play and then book the player?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Anthony
The answer is NO and that amendment to the Laws only applies to red card offences. In the case where advantage has been played on a red card offence and the player subsequently gets involved in active play then it is an IDFK from where the player gets involved.
It is a very rare offence as referees are advised to not play advantage on a red card offence except in a goal scoring opportunity. It does not apply to cautions

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

If you play advantage where you are going to be giving a caution later, it may be wise to warn the player that you are coming back for him.

And if he should be so inclined to commit a second cautionable offense before the ball goes out of play, you should stop play then. You don't want a player running around the field with a red card hanging over his head. All kinds of nonsense and trouble may ensue!

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31969
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.