Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31971

League Specific 11/1/2017

RE: AYSO Under 11

anon of Los Angeles, CA US asks...

This question is a follow up to question 31941

The answers to the question were not AYSO specific, and not completely in sync with how AYSO has implemented the BOL. (E.g., opponents may cross the BOL when the GK is kicked, not when it is in play by leaving the PA.) There is an excellent video of the AYSO model at

(GK and when opponents can come in is at about 4:20 of the video)

For those who prefer text, there is an FAQ relating to the AYSO implementation at

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Thanks for the clarification on AYSO.
I personally think it is over complicated. I also think that the sanction for kicking beyond the Build out Line is too severe with an IDFK from where the ball was kicked. Here we simply award an IDFK from where the ball landed. Indeed in early games I have given the ball back to the goalkeeper to start again with advice that he cannot punt beyond the build out line.
I also think that on a slow goal kick by a GK that a sprinting attacker can be on top of a defender as soon as he has the ball which defeats the purpose. USSF only states that the ball is in play when it leaves the penalty area? In many areas the players cannot move beyond the build out line until the ball is in play which is outside the penalty area. If we look at the goal kick law an attacking player crossing into the penalty area before the ball has left will result in a retake should that player benefit from that action. The same principle should apply to the BOL
With so many interpretations I can see where confusion can reign. We will amend the answer to reflect the AYSO rule on this. I would suggest that you encourage AYSO to look again at this rule. In the meantime referees should implement the rule as set down.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Fair enough ,the way any organization choses to arrange the LOTG in their area of influence I suppose those willing to referee under those guideline must abide by their interpretive rulings.

Yet it is strange how the concept of time to allow the build up is not adhered to given no one CAN PLAY the ball including the team with the ball until AFTER it leaves the penalty area be it a goal kick or a free kick . Why DEFEAT the concept you are TRYING to implement? Allow the ball to LEAVE the penalty area on LIVE play IF the keeper has it IN his hands or on any free kick out of the PA. Given they can not punt it why if they place it on the ground to kick it , can the opponents then move in?? What if the keeper places it on the ground backs up ( then a weak kick the opponents are already there? I am sorry but the rules are not conducive to the very idea behind the concept? Why INDFK punishment for the keeper but no INDFK from the opponent breaking off the build out line too early? Why INDFK from deep inside the PA instead of where it lands if SAFTEY and no heading is of such importance??
I suppose the keeper will be trained to stand right on the PA boundary line before releasing the ball to obtain maximum ease of distance and distribution?
The idea of time and development is a decent approach I hope the AYSO rethinks their rules to conform more to the idea that created these issues!

Here we use only when the ball is outside the PA, be it a keeper legal hand possession in LIVE play or a free kick in restart within the PA can opponents come past the BOL. A simple, free ball, cry from the referee could let then know as a for sure method. Plus if the keeper were to bounce or drop the ball then reacquire it quickly no reason to assume 6 seconds if the opposition are not already out in behind the BOL. Oh well good luck to those in training!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31971
Read other Q & A regarding League Specific

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.