Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31973

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/1/2017

RE: Competitive Under 18

Salvador Flores of Ligonier, IN United States asks...

Question 1:
If an attacking player is dribbling the ball inside the penalty area and a a defender is running just behind the attacking, but the defender slips and trips the attacking, is it a foul on the attacker?
Question 2:
Should you give advantage when there is a foul inside the penalty area?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Salvador
Intent is not a requirement for a foul. The defender slips and trips the attacker then it is a foul punished by a penalty kick.
As regards advantage the referee should allow advantage when it benefits the team that has been fouled. Inside the penalty area the better advantage may be a penalty kick so the referee should just wait a second or two to see whether advantage will happen. If not then he should call the penalty kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Salvador,

The law says it is an offence to trip an opponent in a manner that is careless, reckless or uses excessive force. So if the referee considers this threshold is met, it would be a foul regardless of whether it was an accident or not.

When it comes to playing advantage inside the penalty area, it is generally considered that the only thing more advantageous than a penalty, is a goal, so it is only if a goal is clearly about to be scored within the next couple of seconds, that you should let play continue. Most referees will wait a couple of seconds or so to see what happens and if a goal is not scored, award the penalty.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31973
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.