Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32010

Law 11 - Offside 11/9/2017

RE: Competitive Adult

Darren curtis of Auckland, New Zealand asks...

Where is the game restarted if I was in an offside position in the oppositions half,
But when I receive the ball I am in my own half.
The rules says it is where the offense took place even if that's in your own half
But you can not commit an offside offense in your own half, so how can the game be restarted from there

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Darren,
I'm afraid you have slightly misconstrued how the law works. Offside is an offence in two parts: being in an offside position and becoming involved in active play. And while you cannot be in an offside position in your own half, you can become involved in active play there. The offence itself is considered to take place where the player becomes involved in active play which as stated, can be in your own half of the field.

The FAQ section of Law 11 explains it as follows:

''Q3: The Law now says that the IDFK for offside can be taken in the player's own half but how can this be correct?
It is correct because:

a player CAN NOT be in an offside POSITION in their own half
a player CAN commit an offside OFFENCE in their own half if they go back into their own half from an offside position''



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Darren,
once you are caught in an offside position you are RESTRICTED from further play until a NEW phase of offside occurs that CHANGES the restriction.
The restart NOW occurs where the INVOLVEMENT of the restricted player occurs in this case within your own half.

If you had ALWAYS been within your own half at the last touch of the ball by a teammate you are correct you CAN NOT be restricted by POSITION as offside position CAN ONLY occur within the opposition half. You now know that INVOLVEMENT which is the crime for which you do the time CAN occur within your own half but only if you were caught in an offside position within the opposition half earlier and nothing occurred to change it before you became involved !

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Darren
Thanks for the question.
The IDFK is taken from where the offence occurred which is either where the player touched the ball, interfering with play or where he interfered with an opponent by say challengingg for the ball etc.
As the offside positioned player has come back into his own half to play the ball the IDFK is taken from where the ball was played or where he interfered with an opponent. It is a rare offence yet the law makers want to be consistent by having free kicks taken from the location of the offence.
As we know it is not an offence to be in an offside position so it only becomes an offence when the second part of the offence happens that is the interfering with play or an opponent. So the first part of offside happened in the opponents half and the second part committing the offence happened in the players own half. If either part is missing there is no offence. So a player cannot be in an offside position in his own half and he cannot be called offside if he does not interfere with play or an opponent.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32010
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.