Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32046

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/23/2017

RE: Adult

Peter of totnes, DEVON United Kingdom asks...

This question is a follow up to question 32044

Thank you for your responses! They certainly address the issue. I'm wondering whether there is any specific clause in the rule book that applies to this situation: Would the referee be strictly obliged to award a free kick due to no advantage accruing? Or, once the advantage has been signalled, if the fouled team fail to take advantage then it's hard luck - sorry, you have to play on.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Peter
The Laws of the Game state and I quote
** allows play to continue when an offence occurs and the non-offending team
will benefit from the advantage and penalises the offence if the anticipated
advantage does not ensue at that time or within a few seconds**

It is left to the referee to decide if the anticipated advantage does not ensue and the time taken.
I have seen plenty of players over the years give up on playing when in my opinion they would have been better to have continued playing. As advantage did not nor could not arise the fouls were called. That probably points to the situation where a referee cannot really enforce advantage if the team does not want it to take it.
Having said that in recent Ireland V Denmark game a Danish player was fouled inside the penalty area, the ball made its way to another Danish player who took a shot which brought out a great save from the Irish goalkeeper. The referee did not play advantage yet just waited a second or so before making the call of a penalty kick award. Some might opine that the advantage was taken and realised while others felt that there was no advantage played hence the penalty award was totally justified. I doubt whether any Danish player would stop playing based on the fact that there was a foul on a team mate and a penalty award in the offing.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Peter,

NOT exactly , as the way in which advantage is applied . For example I yell ADVANTAGE! and signal advantage using the arm sweep. This indicates YES I saw the foul but I think it is better to keep going. ONCE I am satisfied that the advantage HAS occurred, the attack is on, the shot taken I drop the arms and cry PLAY ON! This is in that 3 to 5 seconds of deciding time where I observe what occurs. If the team stops, if there is an offside, if they quickly lose possession due to pressure or they stumble , or a players pick the ball up looking bewildered then there is no advantage we sigh and likely award the free kick. YET if the player simply had to kick the ball into the open goal for the advantage to be realized but stood there and tried to argue for a free kick until the keeper came over to grab it we might just say, Seriously!

WE can do the exact same thing in not saying anything just delaying the whistle to await an outcome. We generally reserve this for in and around the penalty area as it takes away our judgement if we were to signal and shout out for any kind of an attempt is made given a PK is a very good opportunity and that advantage better match up to it!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32046
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.