Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32055

Other 11/26/2017

RE: Rec Adult

russell of Sydney, VAR trial country Australia asks...

and yet another VAR incident.
Was it deliberate? The VAR panel believed so.

This one is very similar to the CRICKET DRS that occurred in the Australia v England Ashes Test today, where only one person on the field thourght the batsman had nicked a ball caught by the wicket keeper.
Sheepishly, the Aussie captain asked to have the incident reviewed and it proved that the batsman had nicked the ball. Issue is, while technically correct, the Cricket DRS was put in place to look at umpire decisions that where blatantly wrong. No one could say the umpire made a blatant wrong call, as the evidence the DRS system showed, was so slight that only an infra red camera was able to detect the 'nick' by the bat on ball.
Looks like this handball Penalty was similar, yes the ball and hand may have had contact, but was it deliberate?

Maybe they had better angles to see a noticeable deflections that made the ball go to the keeper as opposed to maybe into the goal - but was it deliberate. The defender seems to pull the hand away, even if slightly late on the pull away, is it only late due to the close range the ball was when hit.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russell
The vagaries of deliberate handling. A straw poll of referees would illicit a very divided group on this
For me it is not deliberate. The player makes no attempt to stop or deflect the ball. Some will argue that his hand was raised yet there is no movement of it towards the ball. Throw in a second yellow then this is a doubly harsh decision.
Now we know from looking at senior panel group videos that instructions can be given that *advise* referees to do X in Y situations. The referee here may opine that the hand was raised away from the body and that it was a shot at goal and that the advice is DHB and a caution in such situations? Without VAR there was nothing and that was the correct decision for me.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

This was ALWAYS the danger of video review. The policy that I feel MUST be implemented is the video foul MUST affect the goal scoring opportunity 100% as the Esse 1998 WC incident proved not all is seen Cheers

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32055
Read other Q & A regarding Other

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.