Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 3207

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Jim Laflin of , asks...

Under which circumstances should a freekick be given inside the penalty area? (Other than backpass)..And should they be DFKs or InDFKs?..Thanks

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Hi Jim. I'm not sure I understand your question. Are you referring to free kicks awarded to the defending team or the attacking team? There's never a DFK awarded to the attacking team in the defending PA. They would be PK's so I believe you are referring to those awarded to the attacking team. IFK's are awarded to the attacking team 1) As you say,delberate passback to the keeper with the foot and the keeper handles the ball, 2) If the keeper handles the ball directly from a team-mate's throw-in,3)takes more than 6 seconds to release the ball, or 4)touches the ball again with his hands after he has given up possession before the ball touches another player.5) Keeper wastes time. I think these are what you are asking for. In addition IFK's can be awarded to the opponents inside the PA for,Dangerous play,Impeding the progress of an opponent,misconduct, or fair charge off the ball,which is a form of impeding..Feel free to resubmit if this is not the answer you're looking for.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Stacy Kalstrom

The only time a direct freekick can be awarded in the penalty area is when an attacker has committed a penal foul against a defender. Otherwise if a defender commits one of the penal fouls against an attacker the result would be a penalty kick. An indirect free kick can be awarded to either team in the penalty area. In the case of a direct or indirect free kick being awarded to the defending team within their own penalty area, the ball must clear the area to be in play (like a goal kick)...Law 12 clearly identifies the infractions and penalties involved in awarding both indirect and direct free kicks...Thanks for visiting our site, please come again.



Read other questions answered by Referee Stacy Kalstrom

View Referee Stacy Kalstrom profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 3207
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.