Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32070

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/30/2017

RE: Competitive Under 14

Aaron Speca of Virginia Beach, VA USA asks...

This one is tougher to call for me than it appeared to be when I saw it live. I was sure that there was a foul on the black attacker, but now I'm not as sure. Originally I thought the contact had started after the ball was played away by the blue defender. Replay shows that contact began as the ball was being played. However, it doesn't appear to me that black made any kind of move to play the ball prior to or while initiating the charge, and instead just moved the blue defender out of the way. It's also not clear to me whether the black player used his arm to push off (which I was originally sure he did). I think I still lean towards a foul here, but was curious on your thoughts. No call on the field, goal counted.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Aaron
Thanks for the video. Inconclusive based on what is shown here although just as the trail,AR comes into view there seems to be a raised arm by Black and what looks like dipping towards the Blue defender. Blue has to be stronger here as he is moved too easily for my liking.
As a general comment on all of the videos posted there is a lack of movement by the officials. The AR should be appearing here in the video in my opinion and there is a possibility of offside yet that can only be seen if the AR is up with the ball.
The CR from his starting position is slow off the mark although he probably should see any arm push movement as he must be directly behind the challenge although perhaps too far back for my liking. If he is 10 yards from this he will *sense* the foul.
So yes a foul could have been called although not a certain one. It is not blatant and one that I would not highlight as a loss of marks in an assessment. Poor defending here with poor body shape and too easily moved off the ball is the main reason for the goal being conceded.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Aaron,
Hmm Actually I think the blue player was off balanced and a bit of a nudge over he went from that angle I would make NO call .

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32070
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 32072

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.