Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32077

Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match 12/4/2017

RE: Competive Adult

Nia Kusnin of KL, Kuala Lumpur Malaysia asks...

If a ball is in play, keeper throw ball and goes into the opponent's net, does the goal allowed?

1) football
2) futsal

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Nia,
In a game played under the IFAB's Laws of the Game (football) and assuming the keeper is inside their own penalty area when they throw the ball, the goal would be allowed.

In a Futsal game, it would not be allowed. The Futsal law on this states:

''A goal is disallowed if the goalkeeper of the attacking team throws or hits the ball intentionally with his hand or arm from inside his own penalty area and is the last player to touch or play the ball.''

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Nia
In a regular game a goal will be awarded if a goalkeeper can throw the ball that far into the opponents goal. It is a very long throw, at least 70 metres. If he throws it into his own nets by accident it is also a goal.
In some small sided games on small pitches the Rules of Competition can be amended to prevent the ball being thrown or punted by the goalkeeper into the opponents goal by the award of a goal kick or IDFK.
In Futsal a goal would not be awarded. The restart in Futsal is a goal clearance.
I once had something close to this in a Futsal game and the young goalkeeper did not know that a goal could be scored directly from a goalkeeper throw. He tried to stop the ball entering the goal, yet touched it as it crossed the goal line. Without the touch on the ball it would have been a goal clearance.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32077
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.