Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32085

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/8/2017

RE: Teir 1 Under 16

Nick of Calgary , Alberta Canada asks...

Can the goal keeper handle the ball in the penalty D in indoor soccer in alberta

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Nick,
No, the D area, is the penalty arc, it is only for distance evaluation on restarts it is NOT part of the penalty area from which the the keeper CAN handle the ball. The goal area is inside the PA

Penalty Area
Two lines are drawn at right angles to the goal line, 9 feet from the inside of each goalpost. These lines extend into the field of play for a distance of 25 feet and are joined by a line drawn parallel with the goal line. The area bounded by these lines and the goal line is the penalty area.
Within each penalty area a penalty mark is made 24 feet from the midpoint between the goalposts and equidistant to them.

An arc of a circle with a radius of 15 feet from each penalty mark is drawn OUTSIDEthe penalty area.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Nick
The D is not part of the penalty area. It is a marking to keep players 10 yards from the ball at a penalty kick.
So the goalkeeper can legally handle the ball inside the penalty area and he cannot do the same inside the D. It is a direct free kick for handling at the location where the ball was handled.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32085
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.