Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32086

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/9/2017

RE: Adult

Alan of Kings Langley, Herts United Kingdom asks...

West Ham vs Chelsea today
Player booked for jumping into the crowd after scoring, why arent the other two players that also jump into the crowd with him not booked?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Alan,
I never saw it but I will assume for the same reason when the defenders break early on a restart at a free kick that actually affects play, the lead guy gets the yellow reward as the harshness of the penalty exceeds the damage done should the whole tribe be held culpable! Was there a need to do so? Versus what is the bar set at? How high do we wish to go?

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Alan
Thanks for the question
There is an understanding in the game that the instigator is dealt with by way of caution rather than the group of players. I also suspect that in team briefings that players have been told that the scorer should he go into the crowd will be sanctioned with a card. We know that if the goal scorer does not go into the crowd his team mates will not do this.
Also a referee that starts to throw cards around like confetti will quickly lose control and the respect of the players. That is acknowledged by football bodies in its advice to referees. For instance UEFA refereees have been told that in *mobbing* situations with multiple players involved that one player should be cautioned not them all and again the main instigator is identified.
So yes technically the referee could have carded every single player yet we know that is not going to happen by convention and advice.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32086
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.