Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32096

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/13/2017

RE: Adult

Alan of Lincoln, England United Kingdom asks...

Goalkeeper is holding the ball, if his feet are outside the box but ball is held inside the box is it handball. Likewise, his feet are inside but ball is outside is this handball.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Alan
It is the position of the ball that matters not the position of the goalkeeper. The line is also part of the penalty area so all of the ball has to be over all of the line to be outside the penalty area. If the ball is outside the penalty area the goalkeeper may not touch it with his hands.
Here is a video I like to show just how difficult it is to determine ball position relative to a line when the goalkeepers hands are used
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uWDMOFxEQuk
Can one say for certain the position of the ball relative to the line and the goalkeepers hands close to the line. Whatever about a static ball, on the ground, on the line these calls can be extremely difficult to make.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Alan,
a is ok b is not ok!
the handling is DEFINDED by the ball location relative to the PA boundary line. Consider the PA boundary line as a 5 inch wall of water extending into the sky, if the ball is the least bit wet on an outer curve, the ball is legal for the keeper to place his hands on the dry portions even if he and part of the ball are completely outside the PA. The line is 5 inches wide the ball about 10 inches wide so what can LOOK funny can STILL be legal!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32096
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.