Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32097

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/13/2017

RE: Competitive Under 19

Salvador Flores of Indianapolis, Indiana United States asks...

I had a question, its a scenario question. If a forward shoots the ball into the goal and as the ball is going the keeper throws his soccer cleat to stop the ball from going in and it stops it, what is the correct call or restart? Is it a pk or an indirect free kick since the keeper is the only one to handle the ball with his hands.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Sal,
old school thoughts were an INDFK, caution show a yellow card for USB as the keeper could NOT be guilty of use of hands for deliberate handling or DOGSO within his own PA. The change of thought turning us away from thinking it is an extension of the hands instead to a strike is in keeping with the new LOTG that permits DFKs & PKs for events outside the FOP. A keeper choosing to throw something at the ball or person will be held to a DFK thus PK and carded as to the situation demands if DOGSO criteria are met! Misconduct that denies a goal is a red card!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Sal,
This specific scenario was addressed in IFAB circular 11, issued 25 September, 2017 which says it is a penalty kick and either a caution or a dismissal, as follows:

''Throwing an object is a direct free-kick offence (not a handling offence) so a goalkeeper who throws an object and hits the ball/an opponent in their own penalty is sanctioned with a penalty kick and a caution (YC) or dismissal (RC).''

As I understand it, hitting the ball with a thrown object would be a caution (for USB) if the ball was not going into the goal and a dismissal if the keeper's actions denied a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Salvador
IFAB the law making body is anxious that the game is 'fair' and that it is a vital feature of the 'spirit' of the game. The IFAB expects referees to make decisions within the 'spirit' of the game and this often involves asking the question, 'what would football want/expect?'
So at one time this was considered unsporting behaviour by the goalkeeper with a caution and an IDFK restart while it was deliberate handling if it was committed by an outfield player with a red card for denying a goal and a penalty. That difference in sanction did not sit well with the spirit of the game as the action by the goalkeeper is equally as unsporting also denying a goal or goal scoring opportunity.
Under the new order of things and with current Law changes it is now considered a direct free kick or penalty kick offence punished by a caution if the ball is going wide or a red card if the action denies a goal or goal scoring opportunity. That is currently referenced in Circular 11 as outlined by Referee Grove and it will appear in the Laws of the Game in 2018.
In summary it is now treated as a direct free kick offence by the goalkeeper inside and deliberate handling outside the penalty area with the appropriate sanction of a caution or a dismissal depending on the DOGSO criteria.
IFAB has not spelt out the DFK offence inside the penalty area by the goalkeeper other than saying it is a direct free kick offence and I suspect it will have to introduce a separate offence under Law 12 as at the moment the Laws state that it is an IDFK restart if a player commits any other offence, not mentioned in the Laws, for which play is stopped to caution or send off a player. Without being aware of Circular 11 and refering to the current Law book will give a different answer.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32097
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.