Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32098

Other 12/13/2017

RE: Select Under 18

Tony of Whitehorse, Yukon Canada asks...

Futsal!!!

A goalie may only have possession for 4 seconds in his own half and may only play the ball once until it touches an opposing player. However, if he is in the attacking zone or the opposing zone he can play as a normal player.

If while in possession of the ball in the attacking zone, he then enters his own zone, does this constitute a second touch or can he play it for 4 seconds before he is penalized?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Tony
The Futsal law states
* after playing the ball, he touches it again in his own half of the pitch after it has been deliberately played to him by a team-mate without an opponent playing or touching it*
So the restriction of touching the ball only applies in his own half and the goalkeeper can play the ball as many times as he wishes in the opponents half. If he drops back into his own half then he cannot touch the ball for a second time even if he brings it over himself
The only way that he can touch the ball in his own half for a second time is if the opponents get a touch / play on the ball to remove the 2nd touch violation in his own half.





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32098
Read other Q & A regarding Other

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.