Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32099

High School 12/13/2017

RE: High School

Jeff Reiner of Captain Cook, Hawaii USA asks...

An attacker is NOT in an offside position when his teammate touches/kicks the ball toward the goal. The attacker runs in an offside position before the ball arrives. Is it an offside foul?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Jeff,
All that matters is the position of the player at the moment the ball is last touched by a teammate. If the player is not in an offside position at that moment, then it doesn't matter where they run afterwards. Offside position is judged at each moment of an attacking teammate's touched.

In your case, no offence would be commetted.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jeff
This in one of the fundamental tenets of NOT being offside. All that matters us the position if the player at the moment of the touch by his team mate. If he was onside at that touch he is not offside even by running on to the ball.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Jeff,
As described, this is not an offside offence. From 1956 until 1996 this was included in the laws as IFAB Decision 1 to Law XI with the following wording:

''Off-side shall not be judged at the moment the player in question receives the ball, but at the moment when the ball is passed to him by one of his own side. A player who is not in an off-side position when one of his colleagues passes the ball to him or takes a free-kick, does not therefore become off-side if he goes forward during the flight of the ball.''

The wording was removed as part of a major re-write of the laws in 1997, not because it was invalid (it is still as true today as it was then) but because - along with various other provisions - it was apparently felt to be self-evident.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32099
Read other Q & A regarding High School

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.