Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32100

Law 11 - Offside 12/14/2017

RE: Other

anon of altadena, ca us asks...

This question is a follow up to question 32093

The questioner did not say who was called OS. But he did say that the teammate who initially took the PK was in front of him at the time of the follow up shot. It is possible that it was that teammate who was called OS for blocking the vision of the GK from an OS position--there just isn't enough info in the question to know.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Good point and one that I did not consider. I think though the kicker getting in the way of the shot is unlikely on a rebound as in that case the kicker is more likely to play the ball rather than the player behind him. But it is a possibility on line of sight interference or a miskick that cannons off the original kicker who is in front of the ball in an offside position.
I simply took it as a simple rebound, followed up and kicked directly into the goal by a team mate of the kicker. That is still the most likely scenario

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

An excellent thought it could be the PK kicker was in an offside position but would have to clearly be blocking the line of sight to interfere with the keeper at the time of the shot! It could be he missed the rebound in trying for it but the ball swept past him on a direct line with the keeper and the follow up shooter was actually onside.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

This is certainly a possibility and one that like my colleagues I had overlooked. I do however agree with ref McHugh that it would be unlikely for the penalty taker in such a scenario to be blocking the keeper's view of the ball. The angles involved in any rebound and follow-up shot by a player other than the taker, along withthe distance there would normally be between the taker and the keeper would not seem to lend themselves to this situation.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32100
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.