Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32112

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/18/2017

RE: Adult

Paul Young of Evensville, tn usa asks...

does a player need to be completely inside the penalty box to be awarded a penalty kick

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


HI Paul Merry Christmas,
in short NO!
The infraction must occur inside the PA which includes the 5 inch boundary line, the player could be partly inside or partly outside. On certain fouls it is a point of contact, a kick, trip, strike, push. jump, charge, tackle where as a deliberate handling the location of the ball dictates the restart others it simply has to occur, a spit or a hold Even the attempt to kick or strike or trip with no contact can still create the free kick location from where the contact could have occurred.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Paul
Once the point of contact of the foul is on the line the player is deemed to be inside the oenalty area and a penalty kick is awarded.
In real time it can be a difficult call to determine the exact position. In the MNF Everton v Swansea game a penalty was awarded for a foul on Lennon of Everton. The exact point of the contact was close to the line and the player fell well inside the penalty area. On balance it looked like a penalty and video replay seemed to confirm that. There was some contact before the actual contact that tripped the player on or inside the line
The holding foul can be easier to decide as the holding can continue for a few seconds which can be a few strides which bring the foul clearly on to and over the line.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Paul,
I would say that no, a player does not have to be completely inside the penalty area but the point of contact must be in the penalty area, while bearing in mind that the lines are part of the area they enclose - so a foul on the line counts as in the penalty area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32112
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.