Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32117

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 12/19/2017

RE: Competitive Adult

Peter Babbage of Hjorring, Denmark asks...

Regarding a penalty kick. Am I correct in saying if the keeper makes a save and the ball bounces out any of the attacking team can score from the rebound? The ball strikes directly onto the woodwork, the kicker can't score from the rebound.If the keeper dives and doesn't actually make a save, the ball brushes his head or his fingertips, who can score when it rebounds from the woodwork?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


HI Peter,
Merry Christmas
on a PK kick IF the ball is NOT touched by the keeper and rebounds only off the woodwork then the PK kicker cannot play the ball a second time although ANY other player except the PK kicker can score. If the keeper does get a touch EVEN if accidental or after it hits the woodwork then ANY player INCUDING The PK kicker can shoot the rebound.



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Peter
The only restriction on who can score / play the ball when the ball rebounds off the frame of the goal ONLY is the kicker. He is restricted from playing the ball for a second time until it has been touched / played by another player including the goalkeeper.
So if the goalkeeper touches the ball onto the frame of the goal anyone can score / play the ball including the kicker. If it rebounds off the frame with no touch by the GK then anyone other then the kicker can play the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

You're thinking of who can score, when you should be thinking of who can play the ball.

At a penalty kick, just like other free kicks, the kicker cannot touch/play the ball a second time until it touches another player (from either team). The goalkeeper is a player, the goalpost is not.

Anyone else at a free kick or penalty kick can play the ball. The so-called 'second touch' infringement applies only to the kicker.

So now that we know who can play the ball, deciding if it's a goal or not is easy.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Peter,
On the first two points you are correct. When it comes to your third scenario, the keeper has touched the ball so any attacker can play the ball subsequent to that touch. It doesn't matter that the ball also touched the frame of the goal, any touch by the keeper however slight, removes the restriction on the penalty kick taker touching the ball again.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32117
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.