Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32124

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/23/2017

RE: Rec & Select Under 19

Steve of Mill Valley, CA United States ofAmerica asks...

In the December 2017 Classico, Carvahal was sent off for denying a goal scoring opportunity with his hand, resulting in a penalty. IF Barcelona has scored during the melee immediately after Carvahals foul, should the referee still produce the red card?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Steve
Had the referee played advantage the goal could have been awarded and as nothing then had been denied the player would not have been sent off for denying a goalscoring opportunity. Instead the player could have been cautioned for unsporting behaviour.
These type of situation happen from time to time and referees are eager to call the penalty early to *sell* the decision. With hindsight the referee should have delayed the whistle and then made the call.
Here is a UEFA referee explaining such a decision of acting too hastily.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Steve,
In fact the ball did cross the line almost immediately subsequent to the deliberate handball. If the referee had delayed whistling for the handling offence and awarded the goal instead, no red card would have been necessary. If a goal is scored, then it has not been denied so the player cannot be sent off for denying a goal by handling.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32124
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 32131

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.