Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32132

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/29/2017

RE: Rec Adult

russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

This question is a follow up to question 32130

Corner or DFK

Regarding my earlier post - I hope this link works for you.

The challenge in question is shown immediately after the City goal in the highlights link below.

Agree with the panel, regarding different levels of physicality is tolerated at pro level, however, for a park footy ref, I see this challenge as too heavy and late, and, provided the ball has not crossed the goal line for a corner, the charge should result in a DFK. Different sorry, if ball had crossed the line for a corner, as technically the ball is out of play before the charge.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russell
No question this is a foul at all levels of the game. The Newcastle player clearly fouls the City defender either by charging or jumping at an opponent in a careless / reckless manner. I suspect the referee may have been unsighted or maybe saw it as a coming together. It is also outside the AR area of control as he would have had a better angle of view from side on rather that face on like the referee.
Have a look at somewhat of a similar incident
Green player knocks the White player into the goal in a similar manner which was a foul and the goal disallowed. Referee is slightly side on so he has a better view of the contact.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Russell,
Your new link provided a clear view of the event. Only the referee and AR can explain why they chose not to call or did not see it as a foul. It was a definite charging foul and should be a DFK out! No idea why it was not called? The side view by the AR seemed clear even if the CR was unsighted or not able to put the force and direction of the challenge as a foul? Perhaps due to being directly in line and the impact was partially hidden from view?

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32132
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.