Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32161

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 1/12/2018

RE: Other

Sadeq of Nablus, Palestine asks...

what should a referee do if the kicker of a penalty kick feints when he's completed his run-up and does not kick the ball?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Sadeq,
According to the wording of the Laws, if a player feints to kick the ball after completing the run-up:

''play will be stopped and restarted with an indirect free kick, regardless of whether or not a goal is scored [...] the referee cautions the kicker''

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Sadeq,
The LOTG state an INDFK out in favour of the Keeper's team with the opposing PK feigner getting cautioned for the USB of trying to force the keeper off his goal line to which is a cautionable offence against the keeper.
If the PK feigner acts illegally thus forcing the keeper off his line given the feint was first the keeper is not cautioned due t0 the fact the restart out is already obtained by the illegal feigning action.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Saden
IFAB the law making body decided that it wanted to eliminate this unfair feinting at penalty kicks. While legal feinting is still permitted a player was not permitted to stop on his run up particularly at the moment of the kick. The principle was that goalkeepers should have a sporting chance of a save on a shot rather than diving with the ball being played into the opposite side. It had become a particular problem in South America where many in the game believed incorrectly that it was legal to do this stop. The web has many examples of players stopping right at the moment of the kick, the goalkeeper diving and the ball being slotted into the opposite corner. It was called a Paradinha which is Portuguese I believe for a *little stop*
An example is shown in this video which at the time was viewed as legal in South America. It was always illegal in Europe. To ensure the whole soccer world was on the same page IFAB updated Law 14 to make it clearly illegal by spelling it out. If that kick was to happen now it is a caution for the kicker and an IDFK on the penalty mark to the defending team irrespective whether a goal is scored or not.
Prior to the Law change referees in Europe and elsewhere fully enforced Law 14 and saw it as an infringement which was a retake if a goal was scored and an IDFK if it was not scored. The caution was not compulsory. That has now all changed since 2010 when the law was updated and it is an IDFK whether a goal or not is scored and a caution throughout the soccer world.
Interestingly to even matters up if a penalty kick is retaken for encroachment by the goalkeeper that results in a caution for the goalkeeper.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32161
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.