Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32162

Other 1/13/2018

RE: Rec Under 19

George of London, United Kingdom asks...

If a player passes back to the keeper and the keeper proceeds to scoop he ball into his own net, does the own goal count as the keepers or as the passers if the pass is going on target?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi George,
The Laws of the Game do not contain anything related to who gets credit for scoring a goal so this is not something a referee usually gets to decide. While I understand that some competitions ask the referee to note who scored a goal, this is not normally required and I personally have never come across this requirement. I think it is more usual for the competition authorities have a methodology (sometimes a panel or committee) for assigning credit for goals.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi George
It is not part of the Laws to determine scorers, assists etc. Typically it is part of fantasy football or betting rules or scoring records/competitions such as a Golden Boot award. Under those competitions there are rules that set out what is counted. If a ball is going wide and it is misdirected into the goal it is counted as an own goal against the player that misdirected the ball. To assist in deciding such goals there is a Dubious Goals Panel which reviews these goals by video and makes a decision on the scorer.
This is what the panel states * As a rule, if the initial attempt is goalbound it is credited to the player making the goal attempt. However if the deflection means that a wayward effort results in a goal then it is attributed to the player who had the last definitive touch of the ball. *
So if the ball was destined for the goal from the defenders kick and the GK tried to stop it entering the goal but failed then IMO the defender is the scorer. If the ball was going wide and the GK mamaged to scoop it into the goal the GK would be 'credited' with the goal.
At parks level it is left to the referee or the clubs to decide on such goals. I personally give the goal to the kicker, rarely against the GK who is trying to save it. Also very little is at stake on a blatant own goal at parks level.






Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32162
Read other Q & A regarding Other

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.