Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32164

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/13/2018

RE: Other

mahyoub of nablus, nablus palestine asks...

the player kicks back the ball to his goalkeeper and the keeper tries to kick the ball but fails the ball rebounds from the goalpost at this moment the keeper catches the ball with hands to prevent the attacker, who is far 3ms away behind the keeper, from playing the ball, what action should the ref. take in this incident?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mahmoud
As the ball has not been touched by an opponent after the deliberate kick to the goalkeeper by a team mate the restriction of the goalkeeper using his hands continues to apply.
The referee awards an IDFK to the attacking team from where the ball was touched by the GKs hand/s and there is no card for the GK. Inside the goal area the kick is taken on the six yard line.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Mahyoub,
while we are reluctant to punish uncertain or doubtful or circumstances sometimes a mistake is just a mistake and taking away the opposition's right to challenge or score is not trifling.
If you as CR are 100% convinced the ball was deliberately kicked by the team mate to his keeper then the keeper hands are out of play. His mistake in redirecting the ball into his goal post does not change he can not use his hands The INDFK for illegal use of hands from where he touches the ball subject to the special circumstances in the goal area.
Yet in youth if there were no opponents nearby, we might just play on!


Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Mahyoub,
In this situation, the referee should award an indirect free kick to the attacking team. The goalkeeper has chosen to handle the ball after it was deliberately kicked to him by a team mate. The fact that the keeper has kicked the ball and that the ball has come off the post does not change the fact that the keeper is not allowed to use the hands, especially when it was the keeper's own actions that have led to the situation in which he finds himself.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32164
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.