Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32171

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/16/2018

RE: Adult

Daniel of Bacau, Romania asks...

Many thanks for your answer at my previous question. Please write your answer to the following question:
Being in play, the ball rolls toward the free goal. Just in front of the goal line the goalkeeper stops the ball with a shinguard that he has in a hand (he doesn't throw the shinguard). How should the referee decide?
Thank you.
Regards,
Daniel

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Daniel
In the past this was considered unsporting behaviour for which the goalkeeper was cautioned and the restart was an IDFK from where the ball was touched.
That has all now changed.
In a recent circular IFAB has advised that throwing an object is a direct free-kick offence (not a handling offence) so a goalkeeper who throws an object and hits the ball / an opponent with excessive force in their own penalty while the ball is in play is sanctioned with a penalty kick and a caution (Yellow Card) or dismissal (Red Card).
Now you mention that the shinguard was not thrown yet it was used to help play the ball, one assumes by lengthening the reach. It is an outlier event and I would say that the goalkeeper should be sanctioned with a red card and a penalty kick. The illegal action by the goalkeeper has prevented a goal yet not spelt out explicitly in Law. The Laws cannot deal with every possible situation, so where there is no direct provision in the Laws, IFAB expects the referee to make a decision within the 'spirit' of the game this often involves asking the question, *what would football want/expect?*. I certainly believe that it expects a penalty kick and a red card for denying an obvious goal which did not involve a genuine attempt to play the ball.
I would also say that holding a shin pad in a clenched fist with the ball punched with the fist can easily be missed by a referee. It is sonething not likely to happen very often if at all and asked more on paper to test the knowledge of referees.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Daniel,
you are welcome, those here on the panel enjoy the opportunity to spread knowledge and support for the beautiful game.
Under the old LOTG, probably based on HISTORICAL perspective a keeper was not able to be sent off inside the PA for illegal use of his hands on the ball thus denying a goal by handling . It was thought that if he held a foreign object in his hands it was an extension of those hands thus a send off was not possible. To some extent it was the same if he threw an object inside his penalty area at the BALL as he was allowed to handle that ball. Thus the only restart was an INDFK and a caution for USB as NO send off for a handling event INSIDE the PA and no DFK for deliberate handling INSIDE the PA.
An INDFK for an act of USB but no denial of a goal.
The conflict was within the two DOGSO send off statements where in one it states ANY free kick which denies a goal can be a send off & in the other states a keeper CAN NOT be send off for illegal use of hands on the ball

The realization that to permit a keeper to act in such a silly manner and not be sent off or punished the same as a player prompted a rethink of reasonable outcomes for unethical actions to which a keeper acting in a manner as you suggested would now be shown the red card & sent off reducing his team by a player and a PK would be awarded. This new approach is in keeping with fouls occurring outside the boundary lines in that unethical action that UNFAIRLY affect a match can not be allowed to be swept into a gray messy area of indecision. Solid repercussions for illegal and unethical actions. While I am frequently at odds with the political aspects of FIFA I support the concept of fairness and equality within the LOTG that you reap what you sow!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32171
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.