Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32174

Law 7 - The Duration of the Match 1/18/2018

RE: Adult

Daniel of Bacau, Romania asks...

May the referee change a decision on realising that it is incorrect or on the advice of another match official if he has signalled the end of the second half and did not leave the field of play (the match is not terminated, yet)?

Thank you very much.
Best regards,
Daniel

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Daniel
Simple answer is yes. The only times he cannot change a decision is where play has restarted with his permission or the match officials have left the field of play terminating the game.
Match officials should always take care in ending the first and second halves to ensure that there are no outstanding flags from assistants or advice to be given by them or the 4th official. For that reason it is always a good reason to go with a restart such as a goal kick, kick off etc as that allows an AR to bring a matter to the referees attention. Never a good position to be in where the referee signals the end of a half or the game to find an AR with a flag up signalling a penalty kick, offside on a goal etc. While it can be opined that the game is not terminated it always raises the question which by the way has been asked many times on the site by others such as question 30487



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Daniel,
The law says that the referee may change a decision in this situation, so long as he has not ''signalled the end of the first or second half (including extra time) and left the field of play or terminated the match.'' So based on the wording of the law, the referee may change a decision in the way you describe since he has not left the field nor terminated the match.

As Ref McHugh points out though, it would be best to avoid getting into the situation where this might be necessary, in the ways that he mentions.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32174
Read other Q & A regarding Law 7 - The Duration of the Match

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.