Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32176

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/18/2018

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,
Two situations please:
1) Defender fouls an attacker and the ref plays advantage, during which the attacker who was fouled, now fouls the opponent.
Where is the restart?
2) Defender fouls an attacker and the ref plays advantage, during which the second defender fouls this attacker again.
Where is the restart?
Thanks!

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Petr
1. It is likely that advantage has not been realised on the first foul so the referee will go back to the original foul to award that. The referee can still take disciplinary action on either foul yet the restart will be the original foul. If advantage has been fully realised after the first foul then that has passed and the next foul can be awarded.
2. On this scenario it is likely that the second foul will be more advantageous so the referee can award that foul. An example could be a foul outside the ornalty area followed by a second foul inside the area. Obviously the penalty kick will be more advantageous.
The referee can also sanction the defender for BOTH fouls with two cautions should both merit a card and that results in a red card.
.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Petr,
1. If the referee is still waiting to see if the advantage will ensue, I would say it is more likely that they would go back to the original foul.

2. Assuming the second foul is in a more advantageous position than the first, I would say the restart should be at the location of the second foul. After all, that's pretty much what advantage is about.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32176
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 32179

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.