Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32188

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/22/2018

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

This question is a follow up to question 32179


last note please. I found this sentence.

'It must be noted that if the Advantage clause is invoked and the player offended against loses control of the ball as a result of his own error, then play must be allowed to continue.'

I am thinking about two scenarios.

First in time sequence:
Attacker is fouled-referee gives advantage-attacker is under opponent's pressure-advantage ends due to this pressure-attacker (or his teammate) fouls opponent. Restart from original place against opponent's team, because last foul was after end of the advantage.

Second in time sequence:
Attacker is fouled-referee gives advantage-no pressure-advantage is going on-attacker (or his teammate) fouls opponent. Restart from second place against attacker's team, because foul was own error. I consider such a decision to be fair.

Your opinion please?

Thank you very much!

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Petr,
you are spot on!
We apply advantage.

Once we are satisfied advantage HAS occurred, we ignore the initial foul but could carry the misconduct portion if applicable for NEXT stoppage to deal with it!

If advantage is realized and the injured player or one of his teammates just arbitrarily muffs the advantage with a grievous foul it is quite likely the 1st foul is not what we are thinking off as the OPPORTUNITY was wasted/squandered not lost thus we go with the 2nd foul as a FK

UP until the advantage is realized a foul by the attacking team could be viewed as misconduct!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Petr
There is great skill in playing advantage. Very satisfying when advantage is played to the benefit of the fouled against team.
Now there are many factors to be considered and I list here a few
1 Location on the FOP.
2 Can the team use the advantage
3. Would the team prefer a free kick
4 Attitude of the players to advantage. Does it most times prefer to play on.
5 Mood the game and time in the game.
In your scenarios the decision rest on whether the advantage has been fully realised or squandered. I can envisage situations working both ways where the team gives the advantage away or indeed a situation where there was no real advantage in the first place.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Petr,
While it it's not from the Laws of the Game, the concept contained in this sentence does seem to correspond to a common practice regarding the advantage clause, that is applied by many referees.

That is to say, if the player had a perfectly good advantage but then squandered it for no good reason and not because of anything an opponent did, many referees would not then go back to the original offence.

If however the foul for which the advantage was being applied, contributes to the loss of the advantage (and this becomes apparent fairly rapidly) most referees would probably call the play back and penalise the prior offence.

For me, this is still to do with whether the advantage was realised or not and this judgement should be made in and of itself, regardless of any subsequent foul, which is more or less irrelevant to the question of the advantage.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32188
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.