Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32212

2/5/2018

RE: Semi professional Adult

Jon of NOTTINGHAM, Nottinghamshire United Kingdom asks...

Penalty kick is taken and hits the cross bar, coming back to the taker who puts it into the goal. Is this a goal?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Jon,

Like any restart, the ball needs to touch a 2nd player before the kicker can touch it again. If the keeper gets a fingertip on the ball, then that's enough. Assuming it didn't touch the keeper at all, then the kicker will have committed an infringement and is punished by an indirect free kick.

When it's a penalty kick right at the end of the half (time is extended solely for the penalty kick), or it's 'Kicks From The Mark' (penalty shootout), there's simply no option for the follow-up kick, no matter what.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Jon,
This is not a goal. The law says:

''If, after the penalty kick has been taken:
the kicker touches the ball again before it has touched another player:
an indirect free kick (or direct free kick for deliberate hand ball) is awarded''



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jon
A penalty kicker cannot play the ball for a second time until it has been touched by another player which can be the goalkeeper.
So the ball coming off the frame of the goal is obviously not another player so the kicker cannot play the ball for a second time. To do so is an offence punished by a indirect free kick from where the ball was played for a second time.
In does not arise in Kick from the Penalty Mark as only one kick of the ball is allowed.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32212
Read other Q & A regarding

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.