Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32214

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 2/5/2018

Andre of Waterdown, Ontario Canada asks...

This question is a follow up to question 32202

In regards to the deliberate handball + advantage = goal, what if the advantage is allowed but a goal is missed? Do you go back to the original infraction and award a penalty kick? I can see how this could get out of hand by players/coaching staff who WOULD expect a penalty for the handball.

It seems to me that if the team that is allowed to play the advantage missed a goal, it therefore means that the player guilty of the handball was successful in DOGSO and should therefore be sent off, which would then mean that a penalty kcik should be awarded, but wouldn't the advantage cancel out the penalty at that point? Seems like a vicious circle!


Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Andre
The best approach is to wait and see. If a goal is scored then advantage can be played and the goal awarded. The player can be cautioned for unsporting behaviour. If no goal is scored the referee awards the penalty kick and as a goal has been denied by handling it is a red card for DOGSO H.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Andre,
As my colleague ref McHugh suggests, the best thing here is to adopt a 'wait and see' attitude. This gives the referee the chance to either award the goal if it is scored or the penalty (and red card) if it is not.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32214
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.