Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32215

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 2/5/2018

RE: Adult

Douglas Wix of Liverpool, Merseyside United Kingdom asks...

In the Liverpool v Tottenham match recently I felt that both Penalty awards were not correct. First award surely Kane is offside & in any case he cheated & dived. 2nd award I felt Van Dijk pulled out of challenge & Tottenham player fell too easily,falling into him. Seems both Moss & Smart were,should I say NOT SMART between them. Any thoughts on both awards please & why? Thanks

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Douglas
On the Kane one the deliberate play of the ball by Lovren resets the offside so Kane, while in an offside position, could not be called offside. Had the ball deflected off Lovren the offside would have been called but that is not what happened. This is what Law 11 states * A player in an offside position receiving the ball from an opponent who deliberately plays the ball (except from a deliberate save by any opponent) is not considered to have gained an advantage.** We also had the benefit of listening to AR Smart say to Referee Jon Moss that if Lovren played the ball it could not be offside. The only doubt he had was whether the ball was played or not by Lovren. As the ball was played by the Liverpool player the AR was 100% correct that it was not offside. Also offside is not a escape clause for a poor play by a player.
On the subsequent penalty the Liverpool goalkeeper dives at the feet of Kane and fails to play the ball. The momentum takes him into Kanes path who perhaps goes down easily yet a trip is what it is. On field it would have looked a certain penalty. Most comments I have heard suggest that it was a penalty. A similar incident happened in the Watford v Chelsea game where Courtois of Chelsea dived at the feet of Watfords Deulofe with a similar outcome. GKs need to realise that in real time with one look at it by the referee that diving without playing the ball runs a high risk of a foul on any contact even limited.
On the second penalty decision it was clearly shown that Van Dijk Liverpool kicked Lamela on the back of the knee in the penalty area. I suspect Lamela made the most of it it yet it was a clumsy attempt to play the ball. The Laws make no reference to the strength used in a kick etc so as it was a kick on an opponent it is a foul. It would be a foul anywhere else on the field of play.
So for me all the decisions were correct. If anyone was not being smart here it was the Liverpool GK and defenders. GKs know that if they do not play the ball such challenges run the very high risk of giving away a penalty kick. Also kicking a player high up in the leg anywhere on the field of play always runs the risk of a foul.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32215
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.