Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32231

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 2/12/2018

RE: Rec Adult

russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

Foul recognition question

Am keen to hear the panels thoughts on the penalty shout challenge from Smalling on Gayle in the Man U v Newcastle match.

http://www.fullmatchesandshows.com/2018/02/11/newcastle-united-vs-manchester-united-highlights-2/

Also, a question on the high foot challenge from Valencia on Atsu. Clearly the foot was high and dangerous, and the IDFK an yellow card appropriate result if there was no contact.
However, as Atsu from Newcastle was reacting as if there was contact - why not a red card.
If the CR deemed no contact and so no Red, then there was presumably no contact. So if that was the case (no contact), why was Atsu not carded for simulation ?
Surely there is either contact and a red, or no contact and yellow for simulation.

Could it be possible to have a Yellow for the high foot dangerous play, AND, a Yellow for simulation?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russell
The challenge by Smalling on Gayle was a foul and it happened inside the penalty area it was a penalty kick. Having looked at it from a refereeing perspective Referee Paulson got himself in a poor viewing position with player obstructing his view. The camera view from in front clearly showed the foul yet the referee does not have this view. VAR would have resulted in a penalty kick.
On the Atsu incident again video shows also somewhat of a different story than what would have been viewed by the referee and perhaps the 4th official. There could have been some contact and it is inconclusive. It was certainly reckless by Valencia with the very high boot and in the referees opinion excessive force endangering the safety of an opponent was not used so it was not a red card. Atsu makes the most of it and therein is the challenge for the referee not to be pressured into a decision. The referee referee would certainly have seen the nature of the foul yet not the extent of it. Again from behind and at speed there would have been doubt on both the contact and the extent of the injury.
If it was certain that there was simulation of injury after a high boot that made no contact then I believe there is a possibility of a caution for both depending on the circumstances. It is unlikely though in most game contexts as it is probably going to be one or the other. If there is obviously no contact nor close to it then a caution is highly questionable and if a player feigns injury then that is simulation and a caution.
In my opinion the correct decision was made in the game context although on review there are grounds for a dismissal. Catching a playing with a boot on the side of the head is a red card offence. The challenge for the referee is making such a call under pressure knowing full well that players feign the extent of injuries now.





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Russell ,
I have to think the CR was unsighted as it was a trip and at the corner of the PA it appeared inside. I too think a VAR decision could have resulted in a PK.

If the CR was unsure there was contact I can accept the yellow for the high foot ! I am very much in the red zone as it is not a stationary player trying to clear a bouncing ball but one moving forward with the foot being shoved cleats first into the face of the opposition. My instant thought was I saw contact between the two. I have no qualms about a red card for such a challenge.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32231
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.