Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32275

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 3/3/2018

RE: Select

Andrew of Wilmington, Nc Usa asks...

I was the AR for a U12 game today. The blue team had a goal kick. The keeper attempted to kick the ball out wide to a teammate outside the penalty area. The kick however was 'knuckleballed' and prior to leaving the penalty area it crossed the goal line. The center ref award a corner to the other team. From my reading of the laws of the game however, the correct restart should have been the goal kick being retaken. What is the correct call here in this situation?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Andrew
You are correct. The ball did not leave the penalty area to Python it in play so the only possible restart was a retake. Had the ball crossed the goal line between the 18yard line and the corner flag it was in play and as it left the field of play last touched by the goalkeeper it is a corner kick.
The referee clearly got confused.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Andrew,
your interpretation of the LOTG is completely correct, a goal kick, in fact ANY outgoing free kick must CLEAR the PA to be in play.
The CR either made a mistake in awarding the corner or thought incorrectly perhaps the ball had in fact COMPLETELY cleared the PA before crossing the goal line which WOULD be a corner kick restart!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32275
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - The Goal Kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 32652

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.