Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32290

High School 3/8/2018

RE: High School

Pedro Gomes of Waterbury , Connecticut USA asks...

What is the correct call if a defender holding his or her shin guards in his or her hand sees that the ball is about to cross the goal line and makes a clearance and the ball does not break the goal line? What is the call and punishment for the player? Thank You Pedro Gomes

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Pedro
Your question is not entirely clear. Do you mean that the player has used the shin pad in the hand to play the ball or that the player plays the ball away with a kick and he has his shin guard in his hand?
In both situations as the ball has not crossed the goal line there is no goal scored
If the player uses his hand and shin pad to stop the ball entering the goal then that is deliberate handling which has prevented a goal. The player is sent off for denying an obvious goal which is deemed serious foul play and the restart is a penalty kick. The team plays short
If the player has kicked the ball away normally with the shin guard in his hand and no immediate danger to himself then the referee waits until the next stoppage in play and he asks the player to leave the field of play to correct the equipment. The removed player may re-enter only after reporting to an official, who shall be satisfied the player's equipment and uniform are in order. There shall be no replacement until the next opportunity to substitute. However, the removed player may re-enter during the dead ball after reporting to an official, who shall be satisfied the player's equipment and uniform are in order.
In a FIFA game the player if he uses his hand and shin pad to stop the ball entering the goal is sent off for denying an obvious goal scoring opportunity and the restart is a penalty kick.
In the situation where the ball is kicked away the referee asks the player to replace the shin guard which he can either on or off the field of play. No caution is required.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Pedro,
if we assume the ball stoppage was caused by the shin guard being held as an extension of the hand. It is a deliberate handling foul DFK thus a PK . Given it was an act that denies a goal as a DOGSOh the red card would be shown the player sent off, the team will play a man down.

If we assume the player had lost his shin guard and was merely holding onto it as he kicked the ball or chested or headed off the goal line. The player must fix his equipment asap as the referee will inform him at the next stoppage he must do so. If we assume he is not entering into challenges for the ball or trying to be involved in active play where he could be in or cause danger PIADM that might create an INDFK situation.
High school laws differ slightly in the player if asked must leave the FOP to replace the equipment and can not return until the referee sees it is fixed or a substitution opportunity exists for him to be replaced.
FIFA there is no mandate to be forced to leave the FOP just fix it although to continue to be involved in active ball challenges could also be defined as PIADM .

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Pedro,
As my colleagues have said, it depends on what exactly you mean, which is not entirely clear. If you mean the player has cleared the ball using either the shin guard or the hand holding the shin guard, they should be sent off and a penalty awarded. If the player is simply holding the shin guard while kicking the ball away, the NFHS rules say that the player, ''shall be instructed to leave the field of play when the ball next ceases to be in play. Play shall not be stopped [...] except that the referee may stop play immediately where there is a dangerous situation.''

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32290
Read other Q & A regarding High School

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.