Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32295

High School 3/11/2018

RE: High School

Buddy of Houston, Texas USA asks...

Is it a cautionable offense if a player juggle the ball and then intentionally head back to goal keeper and he/she picks up ?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Buddy
That is viewed as circumvention and IDFK restart is awarded from where the trick took place.
In a FIFA game the player is cautioned for the circumvention. In NFHS there is no caution.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Buddy,
it would depend if the ball was on the ground and the feet were used to bring it up off the ground . THAT is the offence, using your feet to thwart the no hands policy. If the ball was in flight and say chested or kneed to be juggled to the head it would be fine! The act is considered as USB and the indfk occurs immediately from the point of the circumvent, whether or not the keeper handles the ball.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Buddy,
This is. It's something that FIFA have, in the past, specifically stated is a cautionable offence. So if it occurs, the referee really has no choice. Though as Ref McHugh says, the caution is for normal league matches, not NFHS.
The reason being is that, as you know, it's an offence for the keeper to handle the ball after it's been deliberately kicked to them by a teammate (includes kicking it to space for the keeper, or trapping it for the keeper). Heading the ball back, however, is legal.
By having the ball at your feet then flicking it up to head it back is considered using a deliberate trick to circumvent the laws of the game. Same if the defender flicked it up to a teammate to head it back - there's no natural reason to be doing this except to get around the law, thus it's a caution.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

This is not a cautionable offense in high school play. This is covered in NFHS (high school) Rule 12-7 which refers to it as trickery to circumvent the kicking the ball to goalkeeper rule. The penalty is an indirect kick for the opponent from the spot of the violation unless it is in the goal area and then the kick would be from the top of the goal area.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32295
Read other Q & A regarding High School

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.